Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


The results are in….Let’s do our part.

It’s 2 AM here and I am not surprised, but I am still nervous about the election results.  My historically Republican state (Virginia) has voted Democratic for the first time in a long while.  It’s only the northern few counties that made that happen (population per capita).  

Regardless of how I voted, however, I am American.  I was born and raised in the U.S.A. and I stand by and behind my country first and foremost.  Even when I don’t agree with the majority.  Why, because that is the freedom of democracy.  The election and the privilege to vote is our right as citizens of this great country.  The democratic process that is in place is what we, as Americans, have come to expect and accept.  Even if we don’t always agree. And if you don’t expect and accept the democratic process by now, you had better learn to do so. And quickly.  It is what our free society has always been. Majority rules.

Even though I am not thrilled with the outcome, I am going to take John McCain’s concession speech to heart and support President Obama as best as I morally can.  I will still fight against some issues. I will support our country as it faces the challenges about to be put to us. I will support President Obama as best I can to make America what it should be. I will take seriously President Obama’s request for the entire country to work together and I will do my part to make America continue to be the best country in the world.

In the meantime, a little prayer wouldn’t hurt.

God Bless Everyone.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thanks I needed that.

Comment by tfitz




Leave a Reply

