Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


Christmas Vacation
January 2, 2008, 4:43 am
Filed under: Christmas, Family, Life, Photos, Vacation

The holidays were  a busy time for us.  We celebrated Christmas with the kids a day early so that we could catch our flight to British Columbia very early in the morning Christmas day.  All went well with our flight and we arrived safely, with all our luggage in Vancouver, British Columbia on the afternoon of Christmas.  Our family met us at the airport and the holidays began.

 

We all stayed at my sister-in-laws house in West Vancouver.  Luckily, it’s a big house, so her 5 (plus the occasional girlfriend or friend of the kids staying over), my five, and my mother and father-in-law, all fit well together without stepping on too many toes.  (Good thing there are 5 bathrooms!)   

We had turkey and all the fixings for Christmas dinner followed by the opening of all our gifts.  My sister-in-law gave us another of the carved boxes she has been giving us over the years.  This year it was a frog (which I love) and will look fabulous with the others we have.  She loved the hand painted wine glasses we gave her and they are being used daily, with lots of love.  My mother-in-law also loved her gift, another lit up, musical snow globe, this one of baby Jesus in the manger.  The kids enjoyed their gifts, particularly the money, which they promptly spent at Park Royal Mall.

We took a day and went to Lonsdale Quay to go shopping.  Of course, we got the usual, fish and chips for the hubby and oldest daughter, pizza for the other kids, and curried chicken for me.  (One of the few chances that I get to have curry since no one in the family but me likes Indian food.)  After lunch, we hopped aboard the Sea Bus to Gastown  and Vancouver to do some more shopping.  I picked up a few Inuit Inukshuks for gifts.  In particular, one made from BC Jade for a special friend.  I hope my friend enjoys it as much as I hope they will.

It turns out that my nephew who we had hoped would make the 2010 Canadian Olympic Ski team has been out of skiing for a bit over a year due to a serious ankle injury and surgury to repair the ankle.  He is just getting back on the slopes and just starting to train again.  Due to the injury, he may not be able to make the team or compete in the 2010 Winter Games.  A disappointment to us for sure, but he is at least healthy again, obviously more important to us than any competition he may be in.

My other nephew is working hard and has really grown up in the last year.  It’s amazing what a year can do when you don’t see the day to day.  His new girlfriend is a great girl, definitely a keeper, and we have enjoyed spending time with her this trip. My niece is still as beautiful as ever, so very grown up now.  She currently has two black belts and is in heavy training.  She is finally old enough to go out with us for a few cocktails and it has been so nice spending time with her.

Thursday after Christmas, we went to a place called Mosquito Creek.  We spent the evening having cocktails and were about to join in karaoke when we decided to leave and head home.  Once back at the house, we broke out the alcohol, had a few more shots and did karaoke at home.  The videos are hilarious and maybe I will get some uploaded for all to see.   Then again, if I am in them, maybe not. 🙂     

Friday night was more of the same, less the karaoke.  We went to a place called the Red Lion down in Dundarave.  The place reminds me a lot of The Grille back home.  The bartender was super kind to me, serving me my stohli’s razz with the cranberry on the side.  Nothing like straight vodka to keep you warm when the temperature is 7 degrees Celsius. A cab ride home proved essential both Thursday and Friday keeping us all out of trouble and safe.

The night before new years eve, we had 15 2 pound Maine lobsters flown in for dinner.  They were delicious.  It is such a treat to get decent lobster on the west coast.  Rock lobster is just not the same.  Usually we have this treat for New Years Eve, but delivery was scheduled for Saturday and no one wanted to risk letting the lobster sit for a couple of days.

Sunday night was my mother in laws’ 79th birthday. We had a nice spiral cut honey ham, scalloped potatoes, asparagus and a beautiful triple decadence chocolate cake.  On New Years Eve we planned a great dinner of Digby Scallops, pork tenderloin, and some great wine and champagne.  We stayed up to bring in the new year, but this year was a quieter event than those of the past.  I barely made it to midnight and was quite happy with wishing a few friends back home a happy new year three hours before the new year hit here! Of course it was midnight there and sometimes I am still on east coast time even though we have been on the west coast for at least a week. 

Today is January 1.  We decided to do a bit of shopping, but most of the stores and malls were closed. We did manage to get a decent lunch out and I bought a pair of jeans.  The jeans were a lucky find for me, extra long (yeah) and smaller than my current size, although I am not sure why as we have eaten our way through this holiday trip.  We also went to the movies today down on Esplanade near Lonsdale Quay.  The girls opted to see P.S. I Love You and the boys off to another film.  P.S. I Love You was exactly like I assumed, a tear jerker, chick flick.  Perfect for what us girls were looking for.  Thank goodness that Mary Kay makes waterproof mascara because I needed it during this movie. 

Tomorrow I think I am going to venture out by myself.  Since being here, I have been driving this cute little 2008 Mazda M3 GT.  It’s manual and automatic depending on my mood and so much fun to drive.  I may head down to Lighthouse Park or Horseshoe Bay and do a bit of hiking and shopping.  They are both always a favorite of mine to do while here and I think I am going to do it on my own this time.  

 Isn’t she a pretty little car??

Well, it’s extremely late for me (3 AM back home, but after midnight here.)  I will write more and add more photos from the holiday vacation soon. In the mean time, I hope everyone is enjoying their holiday and the new year!!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Such fun! Beautiful pictures too!

Krysti~Mrs~I have tagged you. Please read my post Non-Important Things About Me: http://mercedesrules.wordpress.com/2008/01/03/non-important-things-about-me/

Tag! Your it!
WOOF

Comment by Mercedes

Hi Krysti! I love your Vancouver pictures–breath-taking mountain scenery! It sounds like you had such a great time. Happy New Year! 😀

Comment by shadesofpink

Hi Krysti, What gorgeous scenery. I am reminded that Mary Kay said her favorite city was Vancouver. So glad you had this experience.
Happy New Year to ya!:)!lol!

Comment by Angie




Leave a Reply

