Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


It’s here, but am I ready? Merry Christmas 2007!
December 22, 2007, 12:34 am
Filed under: Christmas, Family, Life, Travel, Vacation, Whistler

Only a few days left until Christmas and I am not even near ready.  This year, I just can’t seem to get it together, although I am not sure what “it” is. 

This year, we put off getting a tree until last weekend, mostly due to our schedules with work and the kids activities.  We usually head to Pennsylvania and choose and cut the biggest Blue Spruce we can find, always picking the perfect tree, as a family.  This year, we went to a local tree farm and paid 3 times (what we usually spend) for a much smaller tree.  The two oldest kids sat in the car, having apparently outgrown the tree picking tradition.  Late last night we finally got the tree inside and my youngest and I decorated it. 

Putting the tree up gave me a bit of Christmas energy, so I went ahead and set out a few more decorations.  It didn’t last long.  I set the decorations aside and headed for bed.  Usually our house lets the neighbors know when they are getting close to home! 🙂  This year, there is no outside decorations at all.  Just our tree (inside) and the stockings on the mantel.  The rest of the decorations will remain in the attic this year.  I just don’t have the time or energy to put them out.

We are actually celebrating Christmas a day early this year.  We have put in a special request to Santa to deliver to our house on the eve of Christmas Eve, as we will be leaving Christmas morning at “zero dark thirty” (ugh) to catch our flight to British Columbia. We will be visiting with my husband’s family for the holidays.  This vacation is much needed by all of us.  My husband could use a break from work and I definitely can use the break from work.  Whistler, here we come for some great skiing and snow!!!!

I have one day left to get everything done so there is no more putting it off.  Tomorrow I will be extremely busy, but I have no choice.  I have stockings to stuff, a house to clean, laundry and packing to do, shopping for the house sitter, and last but not least, wrapping to start and finish. 

I am working on Sunday, open to close, to make sure everything is set for the time I will be gone.  I am worried that my store will be in chaos, as lately chaos seems to be the way things are going.  We recently had a 2 day power outage which caused a close down of my store.  Sales and food were lost due to lack of refrigeration and electricity. When we finally reopened, it was chaotic and extremely busy.  Tonight’s sales were good, but not enough to make up for the lack of sales on Sunday and Monday. At least we are back up and running.

All in all, it’s just not been the normal Christmas for me this year and I have been finding it hard to “get in the mood”.  Maybe British Columbia is just what I need, if I could just get over the extremely early morning flight! 

In the meantime, I hope that each and everyone of you has a very safe and merry Christmas this year. I wish you all the best of the world in 2008!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Have fun in BC and stay safe!

Comment by Accountable

Special message to High Hopes!! If any of you see HH on the blogs, please send her over here!

HH, I am headed your direction here very soon and would love to meet you and have a cup of coffee. (No MK involved – ha ha!) I just remember so many fun late night chats with you on PT. Since I know you live near where we are visiting, I thought maybe we could meet up, share a few laughs and have a great cup of coffee. Hope to hear from you! :o)

~ Krysti

Comment by Krysti

Have a great trip! It sounds like you definitely need a vacation! 🙂

I’m not “feelin’ it” this year either. We don’t typically get a tree because 1. the house is very small and 2. we don’t know how the dog will react. I just finished up my shopping today. Yea, now that’s last minute!

Anyway, Merry Christmas!! :mrgreen:

Comment by shadesofpink

Merry Christmas!

Comment by pppj

I wanted to stop by and wish you and your family a Very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. (Safe travels too)
Pink hugs, MK4ME

Comment by MK4ME

MK4ME – I hope your Christmas was magical and I hope the new year brings the best of everything your way! :o)

Comment by Krysti




Leave a Reply

