Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


Pumpkins Carved, Oarsmen Win 18-7 Over the Mustangs & We Are Ready For Halloween!

This year we are continuing what has apparently become a tradition at our house.  For Halloween, we have always decorated the yard and house.  We have always carved some pretty cool looking pumpkins.  We have tons of decorations that jump, shake and “boo”.  We have a graveyard and strobe lights, black lights and fog machines.  Each year brings a new decoration or two. This year we lost a few mini lights, but added a couple of ghouls.  Over the years, our pumpkin carving has gradually increased.  Last year we had about 22 pumpkins carved with many designs.  I remember Steve Irwin, Mt. Rushmore, album covers, etc.  With the drought this summer, we only bought 20 pumpkins to carve this year.  They were so expensive compared to years before. That and time to carve limited us to not having more than last year.  Unfortunately, my oldest dropped one of the pumpkins and another must have been some type of pumpkin-gourd mutation because no knife that I owned would cut into that hard ass gourd. 

Happy Halloween!

Anyway, so we started carving last night.  The designs are not as intricate as they have been in the past.  Hopefully, we will not disappoint the neighbors who come each year to see them.  We just didn’t seem to have the time we usually have to get it all done.  Today we carved a few more and set out all the decorations, minus a few bones and webbing which we saved for tomorrow morning. 

 I had to leave quite a few pumpkins uncarved and go to my son’s football game.  A couple of friends of mine finished all the pumpkin carving (thank goodness) tonight, 18 pumpkins carved!  A HUGE relief and task accomplished for me.   They did this all while I was watching my son’s football game.  The Oarsmen vs. Mustangs Playoff Game.

 

And what a football game it was!  The Oarsmen won 18-7 over the Mustangs, in the first round of playoffs, making it to the next round of playoffs!  We have tomorrow off from football.  Then we practice Thursday and Friday night.  The Oarsmen will be ready for the Colts on Saturday.  If the boys continue to work together as a team, protect one another, and remember that the Colts are “football players” just like themselves, they will win this upcoming game as well.   When that happens, it’s off to the Championship game!  I truly hope that happens for them.  Although this year has been a great year for the Oarsmen, making it to the Championship game would be a fabulous to end the season!

It’s a good thing we have tomorrow off from football, because it is Halloween. We have some serious trick or treating and beer drinking to do.  Our tradition includes a few close friends that come over to help us pass out the 350 candy bars and 100 bags of chips.  Yes, we get a TON of (about 350-400) trick or treaters!  Last year, we ran out of candy (200 candy bars and 100 bags of chips) and I was off to the store to buy more.   I am hoping to avoid that late trip to Giant this year. 

Halloween is one of my favorite nights of the year.  I absolutely love the kids costumes, giggles, screams and noises of the night.  I love all the neighbors coming out, chatting and having fun.  I love dressing up, passing out candy, having a beer or two with friends and neighbors, and guessing at some of the costumes I have never seen. 

Here are pictures of some of the pumpkins carved for this year. The rest are on Flickr.  I will hopefully have pictures of the costumes and decorations after tomorrow. Enjoy!

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi there! Miss you and hope you had a great halloween! *hug*

Comment by mkrules

Awesome! Thanks for putting up pictures. I love all those costumes, giggles and screams too! We had a great night, and I hope your family did too.

Comment by fightingwindmills

Those pumpkin carvings are amazing! I am not so talented with the carving knife. 🙂 Beautiful work! And these are less intricate than last year? I don’t know what last year’s looked like, but WOW, they must’ve been incredible, too!

Comment by shadesofpink

Those are incredible carvings! We haven’t done one yet. Maybe next year.

~ Emily

Comment by Accountable

Oh, Congratulations to the Oarsman, too!!

Comment by Accountable

Hi Semi, miss ya,
like the pumpkins,
All I can say is Wow!

Comment by msmkpink

Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really helpful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to provide something again and help others like you helped me.

Comment by free likes

I have learn some good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting.
I surprise how so much effort you place to make one of these excellent informative site.

Comment by raspberry ketone diet reviews

Hello to every one, the contents existing at this web page are truly amazing for people knowledge, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

Comment by green coffee bean extract dr oz

Thank you. It’s been such a long time since I have blogged, but I am going to try and re-motivate myself to do more.

Comment by Night Owl Mom

Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks
would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your
design. With thanks

Comment by green coffee extract capsules

Sorry, I hadn’t been blogging for a few years, but the theme was generated through WordPress many years ago. I hope this helps. Thank you.

Comment by Night Owl Mom

Great blog you have here.. It’s difficult to find quality writing like yours nowadays. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

Comment by garciniacambogiaextract.topdietplansforweightloss.com

Thank you!

Comment by Night Owl Mom




Leave a Reply

