Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


Today brought some great news!
September 17, 2007, 8:23 pm
Filed under: Breast Cancer, Family, Life, Positive

A few weeks ago, my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer.  The doctor had found 1 lump through a regularly scheduled mamogram, did a biopsy, and the result was malignant.  My mom then underwent an MRI of both breasts.  The MRI confirmed the left breast was completely clear, but the right breast actually had 3 lumps.  The 2 new lumps being larger than the original lump found.  The doctor took biopsies of the 2 new lumps that the MRI discovered.  Today those test results are in.  The great news is, the 2 new lumps are benign!  Woo Hoo!

Mom is still planning on having a mastectomy with reconstructive surgery.  Her pre-op appointment is next Friday, where she will find out exactly what is involved with this procedure.  The hope is that this will be the end of the breast cancer and she will not have to go through chemo or radiation treatments.  Thank you, everyone, for all the prayers.  I know it is helping, as we have been blessed already with this new information. 

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Whoo Hoo!
This is great news, I know you are relieved of so much worry.
Whoo Hoo again,
Hugs

Comment by msmkpink

msmkpink – Thanks for the hugs, and right back at ya! This information really did relieve some of the worry. Now to get the surgery over and done with quickly before any changes happen is the key. 🙂

Comment by Semi~Charmed

Wonderful news, semi! I have faith that your mother is going to be cancer free very soon! 😉 *hugs*

Comment by shadesofpink

That’s awesome! Just stay positive for her, no matter how hard her journey gets. My mom is still going strong after her bout with it and she did have a masectomy on one side and some lymph nodes removed as well. This can be conquered. I’ll keep you in my prayers and thoughts.

Comment by mkrules

hi mkrules! That is the exact surgery my Mom is planning on having. The one side (right) mastecomy and removal of some lymph nodes. Then reconstruction while in there. We are hoping to avoid the chemo with that. Was your mom able to avoid chemo?? Just curious. Mom has a pre-op appointment tomorrow and I am going with her. We will get a chance to ask lots of questions, so my goal today is to make a list of ones that I have.

Comment by Semi~Charmed

Hi Semi~Charmed!

I just felt a strong desire to say that I think you and your mom are lucky to have each other. Really good to hear that a mom and daughter are as close as you two seem to be…

And I’m super glad your recent news is so good!

All the best,

~Connie

Comment by kahni

Hi Kahni! Thanks for stopping by. Mom and I are very close and I am super thankful for that. :o) Thank you for the well wishes.

~Semi

Comment by Semi~Charmed




Leave a Reply

