Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


Changes, Discipline & Being a Kid
August 10, 2007, 4:09 pm
Filed under: Football, Jobs, Kids, Life, Papa Johns, Parents, Summer

The new changes in my life require a bit more discipline on my part, particularly getting to bed at a decent hour.  If the blog name doesn’t tell you, I have frequent bouts of insomnia and have been a night owl since I was a kid.   Some of you readers really know, as I have chatted with you until the wee hours at times.  Sometimes greeting the next day with as little as 3 hours sleep and feeling it.  My goal now is to be asleep by midnight and the last couple of nights, I have been with the help from my doctor and a little thing called Ambien.  I hope that I will fall in to a pattern of good sleeping habits over this next month and that I will be able to continue it without using Ambien.  Apparently it is not approved for long term use and I hate taking any kind of medication anyway.

I went up to my store today.  Wow! It’s been a long time since I said “my store” and I like it.  🙂   Technically, it’s not mine until Tuesday, when I start, but who cares?!?!  It’s just a little detail.  I went ahead and got a jump start on jogging my memory with the “dos and don’ts” and did a few things like the food order, next weeks’ schedule, checked the inventory habits of the store and talked with some of the employees.  I think everyone is taking the changes well.  An employee and I had a chance to talk about his quitting because of the upper management changes (above GM level).  I reassured him that no big changes were coming to our Papa Johns, other than a hopeful increase in business by delivering a great product.  That just means more income for all involved, so hey, what is wrong with that?  He agreed and plans to stay on and give it a shot.  Sometimes young twenty-somethings can be spoiled and don’t adapt well to change.  I reiterated the current GM’s policy on whining, it’s just not allowed!  I have 3 kids and get enough of that at home.  😉

Tonight we are having our 2nd football team get together.  We are having pizza for the kids, a surprise, which amazingly enough my son has managed to keep a secret from his team mates. Being the team Mom and having my computer in the family room, it was hard to hide from my kids the fact that the parents and I were planning a pizza party for the team.  Of course, I am ordering the pizza from my Papa Johns store.  🙂

My youngest is in the front yard having a kool aid and tomato stand.  We have Roma and Beed Steak tomatos coming out of our ears.  She and her little friend are smiling and having a ball.  It’s so hot out there I am surprised they can sit there for a few hours.  I get them to set up in the yard right outside my desk window, right where I can see them.  They actually have 2 customers right now.  One happens to be my brother-in-law, the other a neighbor.  The tomatos are always a big hit with everyone.  Most of my neighbors get them anyway, we always have so many.  But they always try to come visit my little entrepreneur.

Well, I have to get coolers packed and other things done before I head out to practice, so I am off.  Everyone enjoy your weekend.  I know I will, I am headed to Chincoteague Island!  Ponies and beach, here I come.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

From one night owl insomniac to another, I hope you have better luck than I did with Ambien. My doc has had me tried Ambien, Lunesta, and two or three others, so far nothing has helped. good thing I can survive on not alot of sleep.

Comment by MK4ME

Good for you, night owl mom! I have been trying with some luck. I think I just need to make myself wake up earlier, altough I have nothing to do on most mornings. Perhaps I can start a workout routine that will make me get up. Like with a partner who expects me to be there. I dunno. If anyone wants an online workout buddy to be accountable to, let me know!

Comment by mkrules

Congrats on many levels! I just had the chance to catch up on your blog. 🙂 I am all to familiar with the night owl syndrome and hope that you get it all worked out! Have fun this weekend!

Comment by Duped

I’m also a long-time insomniac. Good luck with Ambien. I never did sleep agents. My doctor told me to take 1/2 a Benedryl to go to sleep. I operate just fine on 4 hours of sleep. When I was little, my mom would tell me to read a book to go to sleep. I would read books cover to cover! I’m also forcing myself to go to sleep by midnight. I’m not as young and resillient as I used to be!

Comment by shadesofpink

*grins* I’ve always felt that insomniacs lead ‘semi-charmed’ lives. True… it’s hard to get through a day on so little sleep. I don’t have regular insomnia, but I have bouts, from time to time.

There’s something sort of special about those extra pre-dawn hours though, if for nothing else than the chats that occur then that otherwise never would have.

Hope you find peaceful rest.

Comment by amuirin

Hey hard worker! Sounds like you have a full plate! Just remember to take some time for yourself. I hope you have fun on the island. I was planning on going there soon; it’s been a while. Chris and I will be going to Hatteras for our anniversary next month. We tried to get a cabin in the Shanandoah, but they were all booked. Hatteras has special meaning for us anyway…. we ran away to the island not long after we met 🙂

Comment by Tiffany Walker

Tiff, we had a great time at Chincoteague. Tara and her 2 boys, me and Beans went. I would love to sneak off to the beach again this coming weekend but we have our first football game. I can’t believe your anniversary is coming up already. Sept. 9! Wow! Hard to believe it was almost a year ago. I remember your wedding like it was yesterday. Oh, how beautiful it was. I hope you two have wonderful anniversary. Have a blast in Hattaras and Ocra Coke Island. Hugs & love to you & Chris!

Comment by Semi~Charmed




Leave a Reply

