Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


Ooops…I did it this time!
July 23, 2007, 10:19 pm
Filed under: Bikes, Humor, Kids, Life, Mishaps, Stupidity

This one is a bit embarassing for me, but I will share anyway.  As some of you know, my mother crushed my daughter’s eye glasses a short while ago and they had to be replaced. Rest assured, the glasses are safe, but things didn’t turn out so well for my youngest daughter’s friend’s bicycle. (I should tell you now, that no one was hurt, just the bike.)

I left my house with a visiting friend yesterday evening to head up to a local restaurant to visit a bit. The hubby stayed home with the kids and we were “free” for a bit of girl time.   I knew that all the kids were inside the house, so I jumped in my truck and looked around to see that no one else was around, then put the truck in reverse.  I heard and odd sound, stopped, and not seeing anything, continued to back up.  Much to my dismay, there in the driveway was a little pink bike with a very bent up rear tire and a very bent chain guide. 

Highly embarassed, I parked the truck and came inside to ask my daughter’s friend if she wanted the bad news or the good.  She gave me a funny look as I explained.  “Well, the good news is that you are getting a brand new bicycle tomorrow.”  She smiled really big and then I said, “The bad news is that I crushed your old one with the car.” 

I was extremely relieved when she looked right at me and told me “It’s OK. Don’t worry, I’m not.”  Of course, I called her mother, explained what happened and asked if I could take her daughter out to dinner and shopping tonight.  Her parents were quite understanding and actually offered to go halves with me.  I turned them down (it was totally my fault) and told them that I would let her choose a new one. I explained within reason, which they completely understood. The girls and I would make an evening of it.

We did go to dinner tonight and out to buy a new bike. My two daughters and my daughter’s friend.  It was just us girls and a lot of fun. She picked a new bike, very similar to her old one, with just a bit more bling. 

Oh, and just in case, I bought each of the younger girls cool flags that will stick up higher than my truck’s rear window.  🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

