Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


Sandy Bay Basic School – Sandy Bay, Jamaica
June 26, 2007, 1:56 am
Filed under: Donations, Exciting, Jamaica, Kids, Photos, Positive, Travel

I have not been able to get this school out of my mind.   I have read on some of the Jamaica forums at http://www.tripadvisor.com about this school.  Since finding the photos, all I want to do is help. Things we often take for granted here in the US, like crayons, chalk and flash cards, are expensive in Jamaica and not always readily available to these kids.  I hope those sites, don’t mind me reposting the photos here, as I hope to get the word out about this school. 

Here are some pictures from http://cheftours.5u.com/photo4.html showing the Sandy Bay Basic School children and where we plan to go and donate school supplies while on visit in Jamaica.

Sandy Bay Basic school provides primary education for about 80 students.  The students range in age from 3 years to 7 years old.  As the name implies, the school is very basic.  They receive very limited government funds and have no one else to help them.

Sandy Bay Basic School Children 

The class rooms are small and dully decorated.  They look nothing like the bright bold colored class rooms we enjoyed here in the US as children and those that our kids now enjoy.

[Photos edited out by blog owner because WordPress said I couldn’t link to that many in one thread without upgrading.  Please visit the website link http://cheftours.5u.com/photo4.html to see the rest of the photos.]

We have already purchased a large amount of school supplies to take with us.  I have emails out to see if there is anything the teachers might need from the local Teacher’s store.  I also want to go get more supplies for the children.  The kids and I had a blast shopping for what we have so far. We plan to take some well deserved candy for the children, too.  We hear they love to get sweets, too. 

I have also asked a local fast food place if they are able to donate some of those kids meals toys.  We are waiting on an answer, so hopefully that will pan out too.  When and if it does, although my blog doesn’t receive huge amounts of traffic, I will definately “plug” them if they can come through for me.

17 days and counting……….

17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow! This is so sweet. It takes a really good hearted person to want to help while on vacation. I think your kids will really learn a great lesson as well, just as you hoped.

Comment by mkrules

Semi-charmed, I know you will only be able to carry so much but If someone wanted to give you a donation (it won’t be that big) to have you purchase more supplies, would you obect?

This is such an awesome thing to do! Pink hugs, MK4ME

Comment by MK4ME

ooops… obect should be object
must learn to proof b4 I hit send…

Comment by MK4ME

Your trip is going to be so educational! What an experience you are giving your children. That is wonderful. 🙂

Comment by shadesofpink

MK4ME – The hubby says we would absolutely NOT object if anyone wants to help out with this. This would be extremely nice of you. I believe I can get receipts to bring back for tax purposes, as well. Suitcase space shouldn’t be too big a problem as we all can have 2 and we are a family of 5. We leave July 13, so any donations that want to go with us, need to be here by the 11th. 🙂

I should tell everyone though Sandy Bay school may close for summer before we arrive. 😦 We have been trying to get in touch with the head mistress (again) to make arrangements to meet her although the school might be closed. If we are unable to arrange to donate to Sandy Bay because of being closed, we have a back-up plan to donate the supplies to an orphanage outside of Mo Bay called Blossoms Garden. This is a government orphanage, so we were trying first to donate to a school that receives little or no funding. I am sure that both places are worthy causes though. I hope to do some more research on the orphanage and write a blurb about them when I am feeling a bit better.

Comment by Semi~Charmed

Can you see me email address from my sign in?? If you can just change the @gmail to @hotmail and then if you would send me
real name and address – I can get something in the mail.
I figured I better not put Semi-charmed on the check. 🙂

Comment by MK4ME

P.S. Hope you get to feeling better very soon.

Comment by MK4ME

emailing you! 🙂 and thanks for the well wishes.

Comment by Semi~Charmed

Hi, came across your site when I keyed in ‘chefs tours’ (I’m also going to Jamaica, 5th July). Have loved what I’ve read, but its midnight here in the UK, so I’ll look again tomorrow. x

Comment by Pam UK

Wow! Quite a little fan base you are building! You rule!!

Comment by mkrules

Yea, international recognition! You’re becoming a celebrity. 😀

Comment by shadesofpink

Hi Pam UK and welcome! I have had email with Chef Tours and they seem quite nice to work with. If you haven’t already, check out http://www.tripadvisor.com forums. There is great information there and Chef Tours has received good reviews. Let us know how your trip was, and stop by here anytime.

Semi~Charmed

Comment by Semi~Charmed

Hi! I’m going to Jamaica tomorrow (July 3), and am using Chef as our guide/driver for the week. Have been corresponding with his wife Libby about arrangements, and so far things have gone exceedingly well! I also learned about Sandy Bay Basic School from Chef’s website, and purchased a suitcase full of books, puzzles, building blocks, flash cards, and crayons. If the school is closed when I arrive, I will ask Chef to keep them for me until the school reopens. I also found a fantastic sale at Toys-R-Us on children’s clothes…..50% off already marked down prices for adorable two-piece sets for 18 months through six years. I ended up purchasing over $500 worth of clothes for less than $150!!! I’m planning on mailing those down to the orphanage, and sending some money prior to mailing the package so that the orphanage doesn’t have to pay the customs tax. My niece, who was a special needs student for many years, is so excited about “adopting” this school and helping the children. How much better can a vacation get than this?! It’s great to know that others were as moved by the photos of the school as I was.

Comment by linda bishop

Linda, I know you are on your way to Jamaica, but I am thrilled that you posted here! I hope you have a wonderful safe trip to JA and the children will so appreciate what you are doing. I just love knowing there are so many good hearts out there in this world when sometimes all you hear about are the bad things. Bless you and your family! 🙂

Comment by Semi~Charmed

MK4ME – I got your donation! Hubby and I will be putting it to good use here this week. Thank you so much for your kindness. Bless you and yours. 🙂

Comment by Semi~Charmed

Hey Semi-haven’t heard from you in awhile. I bet you’re busy preparing for this awesome trip! Have fun and stay safe! 😉

Comment by shadesofpink

Hi,

It’s great to see what you guys are doing here.
I got in touch with Chef and Libby too regarding
our Cheap 2 Sleep series of e-books and came across
the school and the Corspe Boys home. We were very moved.

I have suggested to Chef and Libby about putting a page up
for them on our site because we get a fair few vistiors and
this is a very worthy cause. It will have a PayPal donation button for those that wish to help with funding. They can do the same for themselves of course and I hope they do but anyone can do this for them too, so the
more the merrier 🙂

Once our page is up and running I’ll let you know.
Ed in Spain

Comment by Ed Kirwan




Leave a Reply

