Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


The latest book I’ve read, A Salty Piece of Land by Jimmy Buffett
June 21, 2007, 6:31 pm
Filed under: Books, Opinions, Reading, Travel

I finished the book A Salty Piece of Land, by Jimmy Buffett.  Although it is not my usual type of book, Jimmy Buffett is a great writer and story teller.  Many times I felt as if I was right there watching the story unfold.  At times the story is a bit “choppy”, but all in all, I found it a quick read (less than 4 days total) and it continually held my interest.  

The novel is about Tully Mars, a Wyoming Cowboy, running from the law and bounty hunters, while looking for where he is supposed to be in this life.  You hear of Tully’s travels to different carribean islands and the travels of some of the friends he meets along the way.  Tully has a seemingly unending line of eccentric friends that enable his travels and in his running from the bounty hunters.  There are tales of fishing, boating, lighthouses, sunsets, beautiful blue waters, love and never-ending friendships.  I definately would recommend this book to guys, as I think the numerous fishing tales, as well as Tully’s near escapes would hold their interest. For us gals, it’s good, but not the best.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

