Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


The Definition of Success
June 19, 2007, 1:50 am
Filed under: Life, Love, Poetry, Quotes, Random, Success

To laugh often and love much;
To win the respect of intelligent persons and the affection of children;
To earn the approbation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends;
To appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; t
o give ones self;
To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition;
To have played and laughed with enthusiasm, and sung with exultation;
To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived —
This is to have succeeded.

— Ralph Waldo Emerson

This particular quote means so much to me and has helped me through many rough times.  I hope it can bring something special to you, too.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“To endure the betrayal of false friends..” I really needed to hear that part. I am finding more and more that true friends are hard to come by and even harder to keep in your life.

Comment by mkrules

Beautiful post Semi-charmed, thanks for sharing it with us.
It is all too easy to overlook the important things in life.

MK Rules, sounds like you could use a cyber hug so here you go ( ) and remember we often have lots of acquinatances but very few a true friends.

Have a super day all!

Comment by MK4ME

Thanks! I am feeling better about things now. I am learning to just let things go, something very hard for me.

Comment by mkrules

I know how you feel, MKR. Lately, I have really been learning who is truly there for me and who truly is not. It will get better. Letting go is hard to do, I agree.

Comment by shadesofpink

Learning to let go is extremely hard for me too. I particularly had a really bad time after my dad passed away. I myself couldn’t get through it, and so I had someone else read this for me at his funeral. But being able to go over this quote in my mind, really has helped me to get through that. I have found plenty of other times since then that this quote has been helpful for me too.

In particular “To appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; to give ones self;” has been my goal since I found this quote. I have found by doing these three things, my life in general has been happier and more pleasing. 🙂

Comment by Semi~Charmed




Leave a Reply

