Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


What book are you reading?
June 15, 2007, 3:01 am
Filed under: Books, Jamaica, Opinions, Reading, Thoughts, Travel

Thought I would chat up some books here that I think are great reads.

I am currently reading Lonely Planet Jamaica by Michael Read.  This book is a great tool if you are planning on visiting Jamaica, which we are.  Since I am still reading this one and haven’t yet been to Jamaica, I will let you know what I think of it when I am through and have checked Jamaica out for myself.

Some books that I could read again and again and I suggest to others for reading are:

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult ~~ This is the story of 13-year-old Anna, a girl who was born specifically to be a donor for her older sister Kate who was diagnosed with a rare form of leukemia. When faced with the loss of their youngest child, Anna’s parents decide to have another child although they had not planned to have more. They see a geneticist to create a child who will be a perfect match for Kate. Somewhere along the way the medical decisions they make for Kate begin to take precedence over the rest of the family, including their oldest child, Jesse. My Sister’s Keeper tells the story of what happens when Anna decides to stand up for herself and say that she won’t be a donor anymore.  This story is told using alternating points of view, including Anna’s parents, her brother, the lawyer she hires for medical emancipation, and the guardian ad litem appointed by the court.  I have no doubt that when writing this book Jodi Picoult thought through all the different scenerios of what would be right or wrong for a family put in the awkward position of having to use one child to save another.

For One More Day by Mitch Albom ~~ Albom pays tribute to all mothers with the story of Charley “Chick” Benetto.  For most of his life, Chick worked hard at being a “daddy’s boy”. Even when his father’s love evaded him, it was the one thing he always worked hard to earn. It wasn’t until later that Chick learned, as everyone does, that love not given freely can never be earned, no matter how hard we try.  When Chick’s downward spiral leads to an attempted suicide, he’s granted the one thing he’s always wished for since his mother’s death eight years prior–a chance to spend one more day with a mother who always loved him unconditionally, even when he didn’t deserve it.  As Chick begins to realize he made a wrong decision years ago by trying so hard to be a daddy’s boy, he gets the chance to forgive himself, and, ultimately, become a better person.  This is an emotional and heartfelt read, every bit as good as Mr. Albom’s previous releases, which I could also read again and again.  Check them out too: Tuesdays With Morrie and The Five People You Meet In Heaven

The 6th Target by James Patterson ~~  Boxer is heavy into the investigation of a mass murder on a tourist-laden ferry, which leaves her best friend and fellow Women’s Murder Club member, Claire Washburn, clinging to life. This gives Yuki the opportunity to try her first murder case. Meanwhile, Boxer is also investigating the kidnapping of the small child of an influential couple, a crime that appears to have no motive. All the while Cindy, Boxer’s reporter friend, finds her building being terrified by a criminal whose violence is escalating to murder. Three investigations, a courtroom thriller, and a mystery, intertwoven with some romance, do make this a decent contribution to the series.  I am a big fan of the Women’s Murder Club series, but this particular book was a bit cluttered for me.  The quick switching from story line to story line sometimes made it hard to follow.  But it wasn’t enough to make me put the book down.

So what are you reading right now? What books do you recommend to an avid reader??

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Shantaram

http://www.amazon.com/Shantaram-Novel-Gregory-David-Roberts/dp/0312330529

A great read based on the true life story of a convicted bank robber who escapes from jail and ends up living in a slum in Bombay.

It’s about 1000 pages long and neither my wife or I could put it down until we finished.

Let me know if you read it and like it.

BC

Comment by clarkebruce

I tend to love true stories or books based on true stories, so thank you for the suggestion. I looked up some reviews on this book and many agree with you. I will grab a copy, give it a read and let you know what I think. Thanks. 🙂

Comment by Semi~Charmed

I recently finished “The Distant Land of My Father”. Great read! It was recommended to me by a coworker and I really enjoyed it. Amazon says: “The Distant Land of My Father begins like a fairy tale: “My father was a millionaire in Shanghai in the 1930s…. On the day he was born, in the province of Shantung, neighbors presented my missionary grandparents, the only Americans for miles, with noodles in great abundance and one hundred chicken eggs, in honor of their son’s birth.” To the young Anna Schoene, life in Shanghai is indeed magical. There are servants, a luxurious villa, a beautiful mother who smells like Chanel No. 5, and a young, handsome, polo-playing father. Unfortunately, her father is also a smuggler and speculator who loves his freewheeling life more than anything (or anyone) else. Despite warnings, Schoene refuses to leave Shanghai even after the Japanese invade, and his wife and child retreat to Los Angeles; later, he survives imprisonment and torture only to once again choose Shanghai over his family–this time with the Communists moving in.”

Comment by Me

That one sounds good too. Looks like I am going to have a great summer reading list.

Comment by Semi~Charmed

I’m currently reading “Nesting: It’s a Chick Thing.” It’s not really a story. It’s a compilation of ideas. It has to do with home decor and recipes if you’re on a budget or pressed for time. It’s about making a house a home and giving it your own style and personality. It’s a lot of fun.

I also like autobiographies. My favorites are dancers’ lives (of course!). Dancing on my Grave by Gelsey Kirkland is probably my favorite. Gelsey Kirkland was a “Balanchine Ballerina” in the 60’s and 70’s. She left New York City Ballet and joined American Ballet Theatre with Baryshnikov. She had a lot of struggles while being the greatest dancer of her time. She had a drug addiction, relationship issues and just had an interesting life.

Another good book (although it’s not a true story) is “The Three of Us” by Cynthia Victor. Three women who are in a department store during an armed robbery bond and form a friendship. They’re friendship begins because of a common tragedy they shared, but evolves over the time. Sorry I can’t elaborate more. I read it 5 or 6 years ago. I liked it.

Comment by shadesofpink

My book club just finished Behind the Scenes at the Museum by Kate Atkinson. GREAT READ! Hilariously funny!

http://www.amazon.com/Behind-Scenes-at-Museum-Novel/dp/0312150601/ref=sr_1_1/002-6080931-6349622?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1181920303&sr=8-1

Our list for 2007-2008 is:

1. Chasing Shakespeares by Sara Smith
2. Seeing by Jose Saramago
3. Rise and Shine by Anna Quindlen
4. Mrs. Bridge by Evan S. Connell
5. The Mysterious Flame of Queen Loana by Umberto Eco
6. Kindred by Octavia Butler

Of the 6 books we read last year, The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon was my favorite. Riveting page-turner right up to the end!

http://www.amazon.com/Shadow-Wind-Carlos-Ruiz-Zafon/dp/0753820250/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/002-6080931-6349622?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1181920523&sr=1-1

Have fun Reading!

Comment by MKRealist




Leave a Reply

