Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


Accomplishments, New Friends & the Weekend
June 15, 2007, 2:00 pm
Filed under: Books, Family, Friends, Humor, Kids, Life, Random, Travel

I have accomplished quite a bit today.  The laundry is washed and folded, the kids are packed for our weekend getaway, the camper is clean, stocked with food and ready to go.  I made some calls about MK, stayed current on the recent blog posts, and I think I made a few new friends in cyberspace today. 🙂  Wow! But, just when I thought I had it all done, the dog runs through the house then up and over the couch with muddy paws.  I now get to add an hour or so of scrubbing to the list.  I am looking forward to getting away even more.

Where are we going, you ask?  We are going camping!  For Father’s Day, the hubby wants to sit by the campfire, cook some steaks on the grill and spend time in his new Pop-Up Camper.  We will be camping in Harper’s Ferry, WVA.  A beautiful place, rich with history. The campground has many activities this weekend, including a silent auction, live music, swimming, and even a Hero’s parade (Dad’s dress up as a superhero and the kids parade their heros around for Father’s Day).  Ok, so the hubby doesn’t know we have plans for him to dress up and be paraded around by the kids.  😉 This should prove to be funny and a genuine kodak moment.

Camping is a fantabulous idea for me, as I won’t have to cook. (Yeah!) The kids will be entirely pre-occupied with all the goings on at the camp ground and I can get started on reading a new book. Although I was given lots of great ideas for books on my other post, I don’t have the time to go out and buy one today.  So I am going to read one that has been sitting here waiting for me.  I think it will be a great read since we are about to go to Jamaica.  I will be reading: A Salty Piece of Land by Jimmy Buffett.    We all know how much Jimmy Buffett likes JA!  Michael Harris with Los Angeles Times Book Review says: “It goes down like a pina colada: smooth and sweet.”  In this book, Buffett takes us on an unforgettable Carribean adventure to the island of Cayo Loco. A Salty Piece of Land is said to remind us that, in Jimmy Buffett’s world, paradise is just a state of mind. (Some of this was copied from the back cover of the book.)

The kids will be home from school shortly and we will be leaving then, so I do need to get back to my “To Do” list.  I hope all you Dad’s out there have a wonderful Father’s Day Weekend.  I hope the rest of you have a great weekend too.  Hoepfully, on Monday I will have something exciting and funny to post about our weekend.  With my family, you never know what will happen next.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

