Perspective Of Yet Another Night Owl


Jamaica
June 14, 2007, 4:38 am
Filed under: Donations, Family, Jamaica, Life, Summer, Travel, Vacation

jamaica.jpg

 We are getting so close to leaving on our trip to Jamaica. Less than a month to go and the excitement is enough to make you burst!  We are staying at the Holiday Inn Sun Spree all-inclusive resort, not top of the line, but not bottom either.  They have great programs for the kids and anything that we could possibly want all day long. There are four restaurants, three pools, numerous bars, a fitness room, private beach, local shopping, and much more.  I am sure the post upon our return will be full of stories and relaxation.

 

Holiday Inn Sun Spree Resort, Mo Bay, Jamaica 

While in JA, we plan to visit: Rose Hall Plantation and learn the story of the White Witch; Ocho Rios; Dunns River Falls; and the infamous 7 mile Negril beaches and Rick’s Cafe.  We plan to have some lobster while there (it will be in season) and go cliff jumping, snorkeling and generally get some R&R!  This is a much needed and big vacation for us.  Although we travel a lot, we have not gone beyond Canada or the US before as a family. 

 

Negril, Jamaica (Rick’s cafe) 

We are also hoping to make a visit to a local Mo Bay orphanage and a local pre-school and take them some much needed school supplies.  From what I have read the JA Government does not provide funding to schools that teach children under the age of 6 years.  I truly hope that this part of our plan pans out.  I understand the basics like plastic rulers and protractors can be quite expensive in JA, being that they have to be imported.  This will also, hopefully, remind my children how lucky we are to have what we have. 

I also hear the ketchup is not so good in Jamaica. Weird, huh?  I thought ketchup was the same everywhere.  Since we are big ketchup fans (my kids put it on everything including eggs), we plan to pack our own, as well as bring “Bubba” mugs.  These two things come highly suggested on the Mo-Bay, JA forums.  The forums say that ketchup is….well….different and HI Sun Spree serves all drinks in little plastic Dixie style cups.  With this in mind, we will be prepared. Here’s to summer vacations in Mo Bay, JA!

 

Bubba Mug Family        

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh goodness..Me and my husband went to Montego Bay about 10 years ago and I have been trying to go back ever since! It was lovely even then! We still have some of the local art work and crafts that we bought there. Truely paradise! You will have a great time!

Comment by foreverpink

I am so looking forward to this trip. Since we take the kids with us wherever we go, this trip has been a long time coming for us. We wanted all the kids to be old enough to be able to remember it. Woo Hoo, we are finally there! Now, I do miss my youngest being a little bitty baby, but that’s ok. I will borrow one from my sister, get my baby fix, and then later give him back! LOL

Comment by Semi~Charmed

I have never been to Jamaica, but I have been to the Virgin Islands. My cousin was married on the beach at Trunk Bay (St. John). It was so gorgeous! I would love to experience Jamaica. You will have to give a FULL REPORT when you get back!! 🙂

Comment by shadesofpink

I have a little notebook all set aside to write notes while in Jamaica. I plan to have a complete report with pictures for you all to enjoy. Now, don’t you all get your hopes up too soon. We don’t return form JA until July 21.

Comment by Semi~Charmed

Hi I lived in Jamaica for 20 years, I only recently moved to the US. Negril is one of the nicest resorts on the island. The beaches there are comparable to none. I’ve never been to Rick’s cafe, I know it’s on the West end but I’ve been to the beach several times. The warm crystal clear turquoise water will leave you asking for more believe me. For a great experience I recommend Margueritaville beach club. I hope you have the time of your life vacationing on the island.

p.s. check out my blog on the island: http://traveltojamaica.blogspot.com/

Comment by cooljamaicanguy




Leave a Reply

